• Hunting Laws and Regulations in the State of Washington

    Hunting Laws and Regulations in the State of Washington

    Washington Hunting Laws Hunting is a popular recreational activity in Washington, with over 174,600 paid hunting licenses as of 2021. To ensure the safety of hunters, wildlife, and the environment, specific regulations have been put…

  • How Do I Get My Firearm or Gun Rights Back or Restored?

    How Do I Get My Firearm or Gun Rights Back or Restored?

    Restoring firearm rights in Washington Enough Time Passed Since My Conviction, Why Can’t I Buy a Gun? The second amendment is a symbol of liberty that many people in Washington state value. Firearms are used…

Hunting Violations Charges in Washington

There are numerous hunting violations that you may find yourself being charged with. The charges of Hunting violations charges can range anywhere from a Misdemeanor to a Class C Felony in Washington state. If you find yourself being charged with one of these crimes it is imperative that you contact a law firm such as the Law Office of Erin Bradley McAleer to get a quality defense built in time for your trial date.

Unlawful Hunting of Wild Animals in the 1st Degree

Unlawful Hunting of Wild Animals in the First Degree is committed by an individual when they exceed the bag limit by twice the established bag limit. This crime is a Gross Misdemeanor and is punishable by up to 364 days in jail, and up to a $5,000.00 fine.

Unlawful Hunting of Wild Animals in the 2nd Degree

Unlawful Hunting of Wild Animals in the Second Degree is a criminal offense that can be committed in two ways. Firstly, it occurs when a person takes or possesses a wild animal that is not classified as big game, and owns but does not possess the necessary licenses, tags, or permits required by the relevant title. Secondly, it occurs when a person violates any departmental rules regarding hunting, such as those governing seasons, bag or possession limits (less than 2 times the bag limit), closed areas (including game reserves), closed times, or any other rules that govern the manner or method of hunting or possession of wild animals that are not classified as big game. This offense is classified as a Misdemeanor which carries up to 90 days in prison, and up to a $1,000.00 fine.

Unlawful Hunting of Big Game in the 1st Degree

Unlawful hunting of big game in the first degree is a criminal offense in which a person is found to have committed Unlawful Hunting in the Second Degree as well as one of two further actions. These actions include unlawfully hunting, killing, possessing, or taking three or more big game animals, or committing an offense within five years of a prior conviction under the same title for unlawfully hunting, killing, possessing, or taking big game. Unlawful Hunting of Big Game in the Second Degree is a Class C Felony which is punishable by up to 5 years in prison and $10,000.00 in fines.

Unlawful Hunting of Big Game in the 2nd Degree

Unlawful Hunting of Wild Animals in the Second Degree is a criminal offense that can be committed in two ways. Firstly, it occurs when a person takes or possesses a wild animal that is classified as big game, and owns but does not  possess the appropriate licenses, tags, or permits required by the relevant title. Secondly, it occurs when a person violates any departmental rules regarding hunting, such as those governing seasons, bag or possession limits, closed areas (including game reserves), closed times, or any other rules that govern the manner or method of hunting or possession of wild animals that are classified as big game. This offense is classified as a Gross Misdemeanor which carries up to 364 days in prison, and up to a $5,000.00 fine.

Unlawful Hunting of Wild Birds in the 1st Degree

Hunting violations of Wild Birds in the First Degree is committed by an individual when they exceed the bag limit by twice the established bag limit. This crime is a Gross Misdemeanor and is punishable by up to 364 days in jail, and up to a $5,000.00 fine.

Unlawful Hunting of Wild Birds in the 2nd Degree

Unlawful Hunting violations of Wild Birds in the Second Degree is a criminal offense that can be committed in two ways. Firstly, it occurs when a person takes or possesses a wild bird, and owns but does not possess the appropriate licenses, tags, or permits required by the relevant title. Secondly, it occurs when a person violates any departmental rules regarding hunting, such as those governing seasons, bag or possession limits (less than 2 times the bag limit), closed areas (including game reserves), closed times, or any other rules that govern the manner or method of hunting or possession of wild birds. This offense is classified as a Misdemeanor which carries up to 90 days in prison, and up to a $1,000.00 fine.

Unlawful Recreational Fishing in the 1st Degree

Unlawful Recreational Fishing in the First Degree occurs when a person engages in fishing activities with the intent to violate the fish and wildlife laws, rules, or regulations in a manner that substantially exceeds the bounds of established fishing regulations and accepted practices. This offense may involve actions such as exceeding catch limits, fishing in closed or restricted areas, using prohibited gear or methods, or fishing during closed seasons. Unlawful Recreational Fishing in the First Degree is classified as a Gross Misdemeanor, which carries penalties that range up to 364 days in jail, and up to $5,000.00 in fines.

Unlawful Recreational Fishing in the 2nd Degree

Unlawful Recreational Fishing in the Second Degree is committed in one following two ways. If you are caught in possession of fish, and you own but do not possess your fishing license, or if you don’t have any fish in your possession and neither own or possess the proper fishing license. Additionally, violating any departmental rules regarding hunting, such as those governing seasons, bag or possession limits(less than 2 times the bag limit), closed areas (including game reserves), closed times, or any other rules that govern the manner or method of fishing, it will possibly result in charges being brought against you. This offense is classified as a Misdemeanor which carries up to 90 days in prison, and up to a $1,000.00 fine.

Hunting is restricted for certain species of animals or for creatures with specific traits. Illegally killing a protected animal can result in fines ranging from $2,000 to $12,000 per kill. These protected creatures, as well as the penalty associated with them, are as follows:

●      Deer, Elk, Bear, or Cougar: $2,000.00

●      Moose, Pronghorn Antelope, Bighorn Sheep, or Mountain Goat: $4,000.00

●      Deer with four or more antler points on both sides: $6,000.00

●      Elk with five or more antler points on both sides: $6,000.00

●      Woodland Caribou or Grizzly Bear: $12,000.00

●      Mountain sheep with ¾ curl or better: $12,000.00

If you are facing any allegations of committing the crimes mentioned, please call the Law Office of Erin Bradley McAleer at (360) 334-6813 in order to schedule your free consultation with Expert Defense for Hunting Violations Charges in Washington as soon as possible to protect your freedom and future.