• Charged With Hit and Run. Now What?

    Charged With Hit and Run. Now What?

    Consequences of Hit and Run in Washington Being engaged in a Hit and Run may be stressful and have a long-term impact on your criminal record. It is generally the result of an accident, but…

Need of Defense Lawyer for Hit and Run Charges in Washington

A hit and run charge can lead to license suspensions, jail time, costly fines, and the requirement for high-risk insurance. It is important to have a criminal defense lawyer with the experience and tenacity that you deserve. Under Washington law, there are many different levels of Hit and Run.

Hit and Run Unattended

Hit and Run Unattended is defined as striking a parked or “unattended” vehicle and leaving the scene without locating the owner and notifying him or her, or without leaving a note in a conspicuous place. Hit and Run Unattended is a misdemeanor, and is punishable by up to 90 days in jail and a $1,000 dollar fine. This offense also applies to drivers who strike fixed property adjacent to the roadway such as guard rails, fences, or structures.

Hit and Run Attended

The crime of Hit and Run Attended is defined as striking an occupied or “attended” car and fleeing the scene without providing the other driver with your name, address, and the name of your insurance company. If the incident does not result in an injury, the offense is a gross misdemeanor punishable by up to 364 days in jail and a $5,000 fine. This statute applies regardless of which driver caused the accident. If the offense results in an injury to the other driver, the offense is a Class C Felony with a maximum punishment of 5 years in prison and a fine of no more than $10,000. The standard range prison sentence for Hit and Run – Injury is 3 to 9 months in the county jail for a person with no criminal record. If the Hit and Run accident leads to a fatality, the offense is a Class B Felony, and the maximum punishment is 10 years in prison and a $20,000 fine. A conviction for Hit and Run resulting in death carries a standard range sentence of 31 to 41 months in prison.

Other Charges

Sometimes the charge of Hit and Run is connected with other charges such as DUI, Negligent Driving, Reckless Driving, or Minor Operating Motor Vehicle Over .02.

Free Consultation with defense lawyer for Hit and Run Charges in Washington:

If you’re facing Hit and Run charges in Washington State, the Law Office of Erin Bradley McAleer will fight to ensure the best possible outcome for your case. Contact attorney Erin Bradley McAleer today at (360) 334-6277 to schedule a free, confidential consultation.

Washington Attorney Erin Bradley McAleer represents clients throughout Southwest Washington State, including in Clark County, Cowlitz County, and Skamania County and Vancouver, Battle Ground, Camas, La Center, Ridgefield, Washougal, Woodland, Yacolt, Castle Rock, Kalama, Kelso, Longview, North Bonneville, and Stevenson. Attorney Erin Bradley McAleer focuses on the areas of Criminal Defense, Traffic Infractions, Landlord Tenant, Personal Injury, Firearm Rights Restoration, and Post-Conviction Relief (Vacating & Sealing Criminal Records).